Food, Recipe

How To Pretend To Be A Pinterest Babe or Mini Oreo Cheesecakes

Here’s why baking is better than cooking.

Stealing ingredients while you bake is way more fun. 

Okay, don’t be dumb, obviously I mean chocolate chips, sugar, sprinkles, butter, batter and not flour or eggs. I’m a big sucker for batter. I actually think my body’s built up a defense against salmonella because I constantly eat batter without giving any fucks at all, and I never get sick. *touches wood*

Anyway. This recipe is really easy if you know how to make cheesecake, which is also very easy. I was making cheesecake cupcakes/bites for my birthday and I had some Oreos on hand, so I decided to embrace my inner Pinterest goddess. These pictures are pretty bad, so I guess I didn’t embrace her hard enough. Either way, if you’re making these for a party, you will be the queen. I speak from experience.

Here’s my basic cheesecake recipe –

  • 1 egg
  • 1 package of Philadelphia cream cheese
  • Sugar (I don’t have a measurement for this – I just add a tablespoon and then keep tasting – I like mine a little tangier than most)
  • A few drops of vanilla essence
  • 1 tablespoon of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder

Sometimes I don’t even add the flour or baking powder. But for a fluffy cheesecake, it’s a good idea to add these. If you want a rich, creamy, thick cheesecake, feel free to skip these. Basically just beat everything together until it looks thick like this. It should have the consistency of stirred yoghurt.

DSC_0102

For a regular cheesecake, pour the mixture into a crust (which, if you are making it yourself is super easy – mix 1 cup graham cracker crumbs + 1 tablespoon softened butter and mix until the consistency is like moist sand – then press into a pan and bake for about 15 minutes and let cool) and then bake it on 350˚C until the cheesecake rises and is still slightly wobbly in the middle. Cool it overnight and then cut into it the next morning. Top as you like.

So for the Oreo ones, literally all you have to do, is start by putting a bunch of Oreos in a sandwich bag like this.

DSC_0100

Crush them with a rolling pin, or a hammer, or whatever you have on hand that will not seriously injure you. Once you’ve crushed them to a desired size, simply stir them into your cheesecake batter and bake like normal.

DSC_0103

DSC_0107

I poured my batter on top of half of an Oreo cookie, or one side of it (used as crust) and topped with a broken cookie as well just to be extra cute.

Here’s an ugly picture of what the finished product looked like.

DSC_0109

Standard

Leave a Reply

