Food, Recipe

The best, easiest ever CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Chocolate chip cookies are the best food ever. Let’s just agree on that, before we go on. I’m pretty sure I found this recipe on Buzzfeed, one of those “individual” dessert recipe thing or maybe it was Tastespotting. Regardless, here’s the original recipe.  This recipe makes a lot more than 2 cookies, because I refuse to consume a tablespoon of butter just like that. Plus eating lots of small portions makes me feel better about myself whether or not it actually makes a difference.

I have this recipe scribbled on a post-it on my fridge, because it’s that easy and you can make it as soon as your craving hits (provided you have all the ingredients). One time I made it without baking soda and pretty sure I cracked at least 14 of my teeth. I haven’t checked. This recipe makes 6, so doubling it will make 12, tripling will make 18, etc.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour 
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter, softened (this means you have to melt it a little, when I didn’t the cookies were weird and crumbly)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 cup chocolate chip (or more, depending)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Preheat your oven to 350. Do it right now, so it’ll be done by the time your dough is ready. Soften your butter in a microwave safe bowl. Do it. Don’t skip this step. When I attempted this a few times before the cookies came out crumbly and not as crunchy and delicious. Don’t ask me, science and baking is weird. Soften your butter, stir in your sugars, vanilla essence, egg yolk (make sure your butter isn’t hot, or your egg will cook) and baking soda. Sift in (or just dump, I don’t really care) your flour. The consistency of your batter at this point should be thick but not doughy. I don’t know if you can tell from this picture, but basically something like this:

DSC_0631

Add your chocolate chips.

DSC_0632

Using dinner spoons, spoon the cookie dough onto buttered foil or wax paper on a baking tray/cookie sheet. I don’t care about making mine look pretty cause I’m all about that rustic life.

DSC_0635

Stick your cookie sheet or baking tray into the oven. My sister the chef says it’s best in the middle of the oven, but I’m careless and I don’t find this makes a HUGE difference, so whatever. Keep an eye on them, because baking times vary depending on how you like them. 10 minutes for soft, chewy cookies, about 15 for crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside cookies and 20 for burnt crisps. I could be off those times a little, so keeping an eye is best. They should have a golden brown colour all over when they’re chewy, a darker brown around the edges if you want them crisp on the outside and chewy inside. Pitch black if you hate your life and are a waster.

Now, enjoy these pictures of my gorgeous cookies:

DSC_0640

DSC_0641

DSC_0644

DSC_0648

Standard

3 thoughts on “The best, easiest ever CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Leave a Reply

