Food, Recipe

Realish Molten Chocolate Cakes

I’ve posted about a quick molten chocolate cake before, but a) I kind of messed that up b) here’s a real recipe c) that’s mostly a sort of uncooked cake.

I don’t remember when or how I came across this recipe but as every recipe on here, it’s edited from Nigella Lawson’s version that can be found here. If you want the Youchoob video (if you’re into Nigella’s chocolatey voice and her ample marshmallow bosoms like me), I’m going to try and embed it at the end of this post!

When I tried this recipe, I baked 3 different ramekins for 3 different periods of time. Obviously only one of them turned right. And I mean really, really, really, decadently right.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (or 1 stick) of butter + 1 tablespoon to grease the ramekins with

4 ounches semisweet chocolate

2 eggs

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4th cup of condensed milk

4 table spoons all purpose flour

Cream the eggs and sugar and condensed milk together. Melt the butter and the chocolate in a double boiler (a bowl with the chocolate in it placed over a pot of boiling water so it isn’t touching the heat directly). Slowly temper the egg-sugar-condensed milk mixture. Tempering is basically ensuring that both liquids are the same temperature. In order to do this, you add a little bit of the hotter liquid into the cold liquid. You keep doing this and mix the hotter liquid little by little just so the eggs don’t cook. Once you’ve combined the two, add the flour. Pour this liquid into as many ramekins as you need and bake. Keep checking but I believe it takes somewhere between 15-20 minutes to bake perfectly. If it sinks, don’t worry, that’s awesome. My sunken one was my best.

Here are my lovely pictures!

DSC_0096

DSC_0097

DSC_0098

DSC_0101

DSC_0103

This one is the one that had juuust little bit of molten-ness to it. It kind of broke in the ramekin because there wasn't enough butter. Not fun.

This one is the one that had juuust little bit of molten-ness to it. It kind of broke in the ramekin because there wasn’t enough butter. Not fun.

This is the sunken one, and it was perfect.

This is the sunken one, and it was perfect.

Hopefully yours turn out like my last one!

Super delicious.

Here’s the video to Nigella’s:

Standard

Leave a Reply

