Food

Too-Easy Scones

I was working on some homework last night and my mind began to wander, as it always does, when vast amounts of projects are due. After some serious ADD browsing, I ended up on the Fairmont Royal York website, going through their high tea menu. Scones. That’s literally, the only word I read and remember from the menu. I love anything that has a crumbly, buttery texture like that- biscuits, scones, shortcake, pancakes..

 

I’m sort of lazy and I didn’t want to make them from scratch. Last year, I made shortcake from pancake mix and figured scones would be doable as well. I googled a recipe but had to change it around so it didn’t just taste like pancake muffins. I used strawberries and a banana as a “flavour” because the recipe I was inspired by used them and I also had both of those fruits and they needed to be used up as well. I also added flour but you really don’t need flour, I just wanted it to be more scone-y than pancake-y.

 

This is the easiest recipe for scones and it takes less than 10 minutes to put together.

 

So here’s what you need:

 

1 cup pancake mix

½ cup all purpose flour

¼ cup of milk or buttermilk

1 egg

2-3 tablespoons of fat (oil, butter, lard)

½ cup of filling

2-3 tablespoons of sugar

Grease the tray or whatever you’re going to bake your scones in. I made them in a muffin tray. Pre-heat your oven to 350˚. Combine the sugar, eggs, fat and milk or buttermilk. I used buttermilk cause I love that slight tang that it gives pancakes or scones. Once combined, add in the pancake mix and the flour. Add your filling. You should have something that looks like a dough rather than a batter. If the consistency isn’t of a dough, add some more flour and pancake mix in equal parts till you get the right consistency. Dust a flat surface with flour and plop your scone dough on it. Dust it all over with flour or pancake mix. Cut them in circles, or just make small balls or just put them in a muffin tray. Bake for about 15-20 minutes or until the top is golden-brown. Let them cool for a bit and then slice open, plop on a knob of butter and top with honey and enjoy!

 

These are actually really delicious with clotted cream or thick, table cream. I didn’t have any so I just topped them with butter and honey. They were super delicious!


Standard

One thought on “Too-Easy Scones

Leave a Reply

