Food

Taco Chicken Pie with Steamed Veggies & Garlic Roast Potatoes


 

I love those Pillsbury ready to bake croissants, cinnamon rolls and pastry doughs that come in the blue tubes. I always find myself staring at them longingly for a couple of minutes every time I go grocery shopping. I never end up buying any because I know that I will probably finish them too quickly, worrying that they will “spoil”.

However, this one time, I gave in and bought some pie crust. Harmless, right? Right. This is probably the most unhealthy item on my blog, but I like to think that the vegetables balance it out. The reason this is a “taco” flavoured pie, is because that is literally the only seasoning I had on me at the moment. I also had shawarma seasoning, but I’m not ready to find out what shawarma pie tastes like. Anyway, without further ado, here’s a bright picture and the recipe.

 

Ingredients

  • Half a chicken breast
  • Mushrooms, carrots, any other veggies you have/ would like to steam
  • Half an onion
  • Garlic
  • Pillsbury Pie Crust
  • Taco Seasoning
  • 3 small potatoes
  • Ginger paste
  • Half a lemon
  • Salt and pepper

Marinate your chicken in salt, pepper, lemon, ginger and garlic.
Steam veggies and toss them in butter & garlic and some salt & pepper if you like. Boil the potatoes until they are soft and starting to crumble. Put a knob of butter in the pan, some garlic. some salt and pepper, cover it and toss it so the potatoes are coated evenly. Put the potatoes onto a baking dish and stick it in the oven, changing the settings to broil halfway through. Pull them out when they are crisp on the top.
To make the filling, finely chop onion and fry it with the garlic on a hot pan. Add the chicken and add taco seasoning as you stir fry it. Once the chicken has browned, leave it aside to cool. I added mushrooms to the chicken towards the end just because I had to finish mine but you don’t need to. Grease your pie dish with some olive oil. Cut the crust out in a circle (I didn’t do this, I just tore off pieces and arranged them properly onto the pie dish. place your filling inside the crust and seal the top with some more crust or simply by pulling in the sides. Make a hole for the steam to escape and stick it in the oven at 350 until the crust is golden brown.
Arrange on a plate and enjoy!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Taco Chicken Pie with Steamed Veggies & Garlic Roast Potatoes

    • tanviswar says:

      That’s sounds like a super healthy option! I think I’ll try it with a brown tortilla next time I make it to be healthier as well. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

