Food, Product Review

Kefir – The magic food that’ll save us all, probably

I am sort of on a health kick – sort of being the operative word, so I’m constantly looking for healthier alternatives, ways to give up one food for another. It’s helped me discovered a whole new world of health food that is easy to incorporate into your meals because it’s not necessarily gross tasting. This has also made me open to trying out new products that I come across while grocery shopping.

kefir-close-rs-1

I’ve been seeing bottles, tubs and jars of Kefir in most dairy sections for the past few years. I just sort of assumed that it’s stirred yoghurt and never bothered to try it out. Today, it was on sale and I was all “WELL, WHY THE FUCK NOT” so I grabbed it. I actually just expected it to taste like laban, which is a yoghurt drink from the middle east. I opened it and it tastes like milk gone slightly bad. It’s not a gross taste, it just tastes very similar to buttermilk. The tanginess is mild, however and it works perfectly when you want to offset the sweetness of something.

The first time I ate it with something, was with cereal, like it said on the tub. I mixed it with some Kashi Honey Almond Flax Cereal and it was actually super delicious. I find that this particular cereal is too sweet for me – when I eat it with milk, it makes the milk sickeningly sweet and I kind of get tired of eating it. With kefir, however, it was perfect. The tanginess of the kefir really helps balance out the sweetness in the cereal. Since then, I’ve used it to marinate meats in (like buttermilk), to drink on its own, in smoothies etc.

If you’re interested in trying it out, I would definitely suggest it. It’s a delicious, healthy product with all sorts of benefits outlined in detail here, here and here.

Here’s the short version:

  • It’s “pre-digested” so if you’re lactose intolerant, you’re good, you can still drink it!
  • Helps with cancer
  • Helps with herpes
  • Helps with irritable bowel syndrome
  • Helps with immune disfunction and increases your body’s abilities to fight against disease
  • Helps with colitis
  • Helps with leaky gut (I don’t even want to know what this is)
  • Improves liver and gall bladder function
  • Effective treatment of acne and other skin disorders
  • Anti-oxidants have an anti-aging effect
  • Regulates cholestrol, blood pressure and blood sugar
  • Regulates metabolism and digestion
  • A remedy against allergies
  • Strongest natural anti-biotic without side effects
  • Treats kidney stones
  • Treats gastritis, pancreatitis
  • Prevents colon cancer
  • Treats ulcers
  • Stops the growth of cancer cells
  • Speeds up healing process
  • Treats psoriasis, eczema and inflammatory diseases
  • Reduces size of tumors

Okay there’s at least 40 more, so just click here for all of them. Apparently it helps you lose weight too. I’m 100% sure I’ll be buying more of this supposedly super food every time I go grocery shopping.

Here are various ways in which you can use kefir.

Just do a quick search on Google and it’ll help you incorporate Kefir into your diet. Obviously it’s an super super super food and amazing for you, so DO IT! It helps that it’s not crazy expensive, either. It’s about the same as a tub of greek yoghurt, a little more if you decide to go organic.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Kefir – The magic food that’ll save us all, probably

Leave a Reply

